Search the Site


Mark, The Gospel According to

The Bible book believed by most (but not all) scholars to be the earliest of the four NT Gospels and to have served as one of the sources used by the authors of the Gospel of Luke (Luke 1:1) and the Gospel of Matthew. The Gospel of Mark tells the story of Jesus in a way that shows he could be recognized for what he was, God’s own Son, only after his death on the cross and resurrection.

Outline of Contents


I. Jesus appears, preaching the kingdom of God with power (Mark 1:1-3:6)

A. Beginnings—John the Baptist (Mark 1:1-13)

B. Jesus’s ministry introduced (Mark 1:14-45)

C. Conflict with religious authorities (Mark 2:1-3:6)

II. Jesus’s ministry in Galilee (Mark 3:7-6:6)

A. True followers of Jesus (Mark 3:7-35)

B. Teaching in parables (Mark 4:1-34)

C. Working miracles (Mark 4:35-5:43)

D. Conflict with his own (Mark 6:1-6)

III. Jesus begins his final journey to Jerusalem (Mark 6:7-8:21)

A. Mission of the Twelve and John’s death (Mark 6:7-29)

B. Feeding and healing miracles (Mark 6:30-56)

C. Teaching about the law (Mark 7:1-23)

D. Healing and feeding miracles (Mark 7:24-8:10)

E. Foes and friends misunderstand (Mark 8:11-21)

IV. Jesus heals blind eyes—teaching on discipleship (Mark 8:22-10:52)

A. Blind eyes opened (Mark 8:22-26)

B. First passion prediction and attendant events (Mark 8:27-9:29)

C. Second passion prediction and attendant events (Mark 9:30-10:31)

D. Third passion prediction and attendant events (Mark 10:32-45)

E. Blind eyes opened (Mark 10:46-52)

V. Final week in Jerusalem (Mark 11:1-16:8)

A. Jesus teaches in the Temple (Mark 11:1-12:44)

B. On times before the end (Mark 13:1-37)

C. Final acts of Jesus (Mark 14:1-42)

D. Jesus tried and condemned (Mark 14:43-15:47)

E. The empty tomb (Mark 16:1-8)

VI. Later epilogue: Jesus appears (Mark 16:9-20)