Meet Bible Odyssey Website contributors and find out more about their research and publications.

  • Jesper Svartvik

    Jesper Svartvik Professor,  Lund University and the Swedish Theological Institute

    Jesper Svartvik is Krister Stendahl Professor of Theology of Religions at Lund University and the Swedish Theological Institute in Jerusalem.

    Bible Odyssey Content:

  • Marvin A. Sweeney

    Marvin A. Sweeney Professor,  Claremont School of Theology

    Marvin A. Sweeney is professor of Hebrew Bible at the Claremont School of Theology and professor of Tanak at the Academy for Jewish Religion California. He is the author of Tanak: A Theological and Critical Introduction to the Jewish Bible (Fortress, 2012) and 1 and 2 Kings: A Commentary (Westminster John Knox, 2007).

    Bible Odyssey Content:

  • Kristin Swenson

    Kristin Swenson Visiting Associate Professor,  University of Virginia

    Kristin Swenson is visiting associate professor of religious studies at the University of Virginia. She is the author of Living through Pain: Psalms and the Search for Wholeness (Baylor University Press, 2005) and Bible Babel: Making Sense of the Most Talked About Book of All Time (Harper, 2010). She is presently working on a historical novel of ancient Babylon and Persia.

    Bible Odyssey Content:

  • Ada Taggar-Cohen

    Ada Taggar-Cohen Professor,  Doshisha University

    Ada Taggar-Cohen is a professor of Bible and ancient Near Eastern studies at the Faculty of Theology of Doshisha University, Kyoto, Japan. Her research focuses on Hittite priesthood and comparative studies of issues related to Hittite and ancient Israelite cultures. Her book Hittite Priesthood (Universitätsverlag Winter, 2006) is a comprehensive work on this topic.

    Bible Odyssey Content:

 NEH Logo
Bible Odyssey has been made possible in part by the National Endowment for the Humanities: Exploring the human endeavor
Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this website, do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.