Twelve Tribes


The shaded areas in this map represent the tribal allotments of land as described in the book of Joshua in the Hebrew Bible. There are 12 tribal territories, though out of the original 12 tribes, Levi did not receive land and the territory of Joseph was divided between his two sons. The cities included in the map are mentioned in the Bible as important during the premonarchic period, and many of them were used to define boundaries between tribes. During this period, Jerusalem was called Jebus and was not yet the capital of the Davidic kingdom. Produced by

Israel/Judah when ruled by a king from the Davidic lineage, which included the United Monarchy, the Kingdom of Judah, and the future prophesied in texts like Amos 9:11-12.

A West Semitic language, in which most of the Hebrew Bible is written except for parts of Daniel and Ezra. Hebrew is regarded as the spoken language of ancient Israel but is largely replaced by Aramaic in the Persian period.

Related to tribes, especially the so-called ten tribes of Israel.

 NEH Logo
Bible Odyssey has been made possible in part by the National Endowment for the Humanities: Exploring the human endeavor
Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this website, do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.